top of page

The first modern edition of Domenico Scorpione's Salve Regina

From Compieta da Capella con le quattro Antifone, e Litanie della Beata Vergine à cinque voci, col Basso Continuo per l'Organo, op. 2. Bologna: 1672.

Scoring: SSATB, organ continuo

Digital Download.


Domenico Scorpione was a Franciscan friar active from at least 1672 when his his first two collections of music were published. At this time, he was the maestro di cappella at San Francesco, Bologna, but the following year he gained his first of many appointments in Rome, Messina and finally Benevento. Scorpione published four collections of sacred music, all of which look backwards to the prima pratica style of the early seventeeth-century.

Scorpione - Salve Regina. Digital Download.

  • Scoring: SSATB, organ continuo

    Contents: Vocal Score, organ, continuo realisation.

    Total pages: 19
    File size: 3.8 MB
    Work duration: 3'
    Catalogue number: CK0054 

    ISMN: 9790708170532

bottom of page